Track day – rally taster

A few days ago I finally made it to a track to have some fun. I have tried off-road driving quite a few years ago, only to find out it’s really not for me. So this time I went for a rally taster. I had no idea what I would make of it, so a taster (only a few laps and not too expensive) seemed the right thing to do. And it was.

I have to admit that booking it wasn’t as straightforward as I had hoped. I bought a voucher for a rally taster, but when I called to book the day the lady on the phone tried to convince me to change it to a supercar experience. Eh…no, thank you.
The track nearest to me also didn’t have any available slots on a weekday (at least, not on a day I could get time off from work), so I had to go to Prestwold instead. That didn’t bother me, because it is still less than 90 minutes away and the track itself looks a lot more exciting than the one nearer to my home.

Track day fun!
© All Rights Reserved

I was requested to register one hour before my experience would start, which meant I was there before 11:00 expecting to wait for 1 hour. I was not bored. As you can see above there are plenty of cars to look at. This is about half of what they have got, because the rest was out on the track.
Being a great fan of Aston Martin, you can imagine I had quite a good time just looking around.
Oh, for the record: that supercar experience is obviously on the wish list, it’s just not my priority right now.

When I bought the rally taster voucher I thought I was going to do some off-road rallying, but I was apparently wrong. Never mind, I like road rally too!
The downside of the Prestwold track is that my best friend couldn’t even see the track I was on, so I have no video footage or photos of my laps. I do, however, have photos made by the track photographer.
One example I have posted on Facebook.

Track day fun!
© All Rights Reserved

I have never driven a four wheel drive car before. So driving the Mitsubishi (the car on the right on the photo above) was quite a new experience in every possible way.
Unfortunately I haven’t been able to find any information on the car on the website, so I don’t know what engine it has, how old it is, where it comes from, etc. To be honest, I can’t even tell you how fast I went!
The track was laid out with coloured markers. There were different colours, so my instructor had to explain which route I should take the first time around. But, as he told me I would, I found my way around quick enough.

It is not easy to describe what it feels like when you go around a corner – basically doing a u-turn – in third gear without braking. This really goes against all you learn on the road. You don’t brake a lot before getting to a turn, you just let go of the throttle. Before you’re halfway through the corner you start accelerating again, where you’d normally do that a lot later.
I was being pushed around in my seat, but the car just would not budge.

Judging by the photos I probably did not go very fast, even though I was constantly alternating between 3rd and 4th gear. I just did not have the time to check my speed. I had to keep my eyes on the road.
I am fairly certain that any ‘normal’ road car would not be able to handle what this Mitsubishi could. And I am also fairly certain I probably didn’t get to push it beyond even half of what it can do. In the end I got to do 7 laps and even got a few compliments from my instructor. The grin on my face has not yet gone and I am already considering what to do next. It may be another rally experience, but for a longer period of time, or I may have to get into this thing:

Track day fun!
© All Rights Reserved

I am not sure what it is, but I have seen it is very fast. Either way, whatever is next, I will most definitely book another experience in the future and I will write about it here afterwards.

Leave a Reply

